Book Reviews

Christmas TBR

So being home for Christmas means I have a lot of free time. Sure there’s academic reading to be doing and a couple of assignments due when I’m back in university form second term, but for now I want to focus on something I’ve been really lagging behind on; reading for enjoyment.

Whilst I’ve definitely read some things I have enjoyed this year at uni, there’s nothing like sitting down with a fiction book you’re not told to read, and just reading for the pleasure of it. And with Christmas being the time to just chill out with friends and family, I felt that I should get some reading done. And what better way to make yourself read than to tell people what your plan is?

So here goes nothing:

Because You’ll Never Meet Me (2015) and Nowhere Near You (2017) – Leah Thomas

Two boys who become friends through letters but can’t actually meet each other because the other one might die. What could be more interesting than that?! Well I say either one of them could die, it’s particularly Ollie who is “allergic” to electricity, and his friend Moritz has a pacemaker.

The concept of this story is astonishing to me and the way it is told through letters is really intriguing. Also Thomas has this wonderful way of creating characters with incredibly distinct voices and personalities, which I love. I’ve started reading the first book and have received the second as an ARC from NetGalley for an honest review.

Because You’ll Never Meet Me Review

Nowhere Near You Review (31st Jan 2017)

Life in a Fishbowl (2017) – Len Vlahos

cover98428-medium

Another ARC from NetGalley which I couldn’t wait to request. This follows a girl who’s father is diagnosed with cancer, and due to high costing medical bills he decides to auction off his life on EBay. Now don’t lie and tell me that doesn’t sound like an interesting story already? Well, it gets even better when he’s actually won by a TV station who put his family on a reality TV show.

I can’t get over the concept of this show. It’s just remarkable. The idea that something so private as a potentially terminal illness is being shown in this way is astounding and potentially not even too far in the future from now. I’m really excited to read this.

Beautiful Broken Things (2016) – Sara Bernard

cover74998-medium

I really missed the bandwagon with this one. This book has been out since February and I’ve had my eye on it for a while. This follows three teenaged girls through their friendship which has secrets and lies and most of all love. As a teenaged girl once myself I know this struggle and especially the want to have those “Significant Life Events” like getting a proper serious boyfriend.

I think this book appeals on more than just a story level. I think this is going to have some deeper meaning about friendships and how important they are, and how it’s important to stick with the people we consider to be friends.

Beautiful Broken Things Review

Today Will Be Different (2016) – Maria Semple

cover89987-medium

Another highly regarded book that I believe is getting a TV adaptation. This follows a woman called Eleanor Flood who’s prepared to turn her life around. But her husband goes missing. And her son starts wearing makeup. And her estranged sister writes a graphic memoir exposing their secrets. It’s all fun and games in the Flood household.

I thought this would be a fun book to read at christmas. It’s apparently a very humorous look at life and offers a dose of social observation, for which I have a soft spot.

 

So what are you planning to read over christmas?

Leave me a comment and let me know. Or give me some ideas of what I can read next.

Merry Christmas Everyone!

Leave a Reply

